Image

A Photo A Day

Happy November everyone! Do you have anything exciting planned for the month? I do! I’ve decide to take part in Blogging U’s Photo 101 Course: Post a Photo a Day  . It officially starts on Monday, but I want to to be able to say that I’ve posted something every day this month, so I’m starting my month of posting right now.

Yesterday was an absolutely spectacular day. I was lucky enough to be able to  spend the entire afternoon roaming around the park with my camera. I chose the park because I wanted to capture a shoreline/water/sky image for my blog header. I got loads of those shots, but in the end, I found them too busy and went with image that’s up there now. The rocky water’s edge.

The sky was super bright yesterday, which made it difficult to see the LCD display. I ended up using the eyepiece for all my photos. I was surprised to discover that I actually prefer shooting through the eyepiece. It was weird though. My natural tendency is to hold it up to my right eye, but several years ago I lost a great deal of vision and the ability to focus quickly in the right eye. Using the left eye felt a bit awkward, but it all worked out in the end. Almost. I say almost because when I got home and uploaded my photos to the computer, I saw that the horizon was slanted in every single shot. All the photos were tilted in the same direction, and the angle of correction needed was nearly the same in every shot. I’m not sure if that had anything to do with the how I was holding the camera to use my left eye, or if I’m just lopsided, but it’s something I’m going to have to pay close attention to in the future.

Here are some of my coastline photos (after levelling all the horizons in iPhoto).

IMG_0770St. Peter’s Canal. A Parks Canada National Historic site.

IMG_0759Another view of St. Peter’s Canal.

IMG_0691The Atlantic shore line. Jerome Point lighthouse is peaking out of the trees.

IMG_0545A really neat looking piece of driftwood.

IMG_0656A nifty rock.

IMG_0533Another really neat looking piece of driftwood along the walking trail.

IMG_0638And this last one I had to include because I’ve used cheezy photo editors before to try get this effect around the sun. It made me smile when I got home and saw it on the LCD screen.

2 thoughts on “A Photo A Day

Leave a Reply

