Image

A Nutty Story

I got this nutty idea in the Spring that I wanted to try growing peanuts here in Nova Scotia. By the time I got my hands on some seeds, it was already two or three weeks after the recommend planting date. Regardless, I still decided to give it a shot.

 When I tried to figure out where I was going to plant them, I realized that I didn’t have any space left for them in the garden that would match their preferred growing conditions (loose sandy soil and full sun), so I bought bagged soil and planted six seeds in three large pots. Having them in pots also allowed me to extend their growing season because I could take them indoors whenever there was a risk of frost. Today was harvest day! It was by no means a bumper crop, but hey, I actually grew peanuts! That’s pretty darn awesome!

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m posting photos to this blog every day this month. Because it’s raining cats and dogs (again!) I decided to stay indoors and photograph my freshly picked peanuts. Sadly, my photos were a huge disappointment. I realize that not yet having a macro lens is limiting my ability to take great close-up shots, but I was still bummed about it. I tried a lot of different things to try get a better focus, but I didn’t have any luck. I expect the lighting didn’t help much either. I also fiddled around quite a bit trying to make the most of both natural and artificial light sources, but nothing but nothing I tried worked very well. Oh well…It’s something I’ll just have to keep playing around with. I’ll figure it out someday.

Here are the best two out of the forty-something crappy photos I took of my meagre peanut harvest. If it weren’t for the fact that I committed to posting every day this month, I totally would have sent these straight to the recycle bin. In fact, they most likely will be going to the recycle bin soon after I publish this post.

IMG_0860

IMG_0854

6 thoughts on “A Nutty Story

    • Thanks!

      I was looking at the actual peanuts today. Now that they have started to dry, they are getting more of that real peanut shell texture. I’m thinking of trying to photograph them again. My biggest disappointment with these photos was the poor of focus on detail, but now that the texture is there, maybe the camera’s ability to auto-focus on it will be better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

