Image

The Natural World

Today’s Photography 101 theme is the natural world.

IMG_1885

I was super excited last night when I found out what today’s theme is. The natural world is my favourite thing to photograph. In fact, my first outing with the camera I use for this blog was to take these photos of forest decay. Those images would have been perfect for today’s theme if I hadn’t used them already on this blog.

I made the decision when I started this site that I was only going to share photos taken with my Canon 70D. I’ve only had the camera for two and a half weeks, so I don’t have a lot of material in my archives to chose from. I had to go out and snap new photos for today’s assignment. I chose this funky looking tree fungus that’s growing on a dead tree near my compost pile. I love its texture and form, as well as the textures of the tree trunk it’s growing on. I also love the contrast of the fresh green growth in the background. I have to say though, it was not an easy subject to photograph. I had a difficult time with both the focus and the composition. I actually made a second trip out to take photos because I didn’t like any in the first batch. In my second trip, I moved some green growth out of the foreground because it was throwing off the composition. After that matter was taken care of, I had to figure out what to do to improve the detail and focus. I ended up moving further away from the tree and zooming in. I also found a slightly better angle to shoot from. I’m still not 100% satisfied with the result, but I’m not going out for a third time today. I’ll save that for another day.

13 thoughts on “The Natural World

  1. From experience I know how difficult it is to photograph fungi! First, they tend to grow in the shade, and I do not yet know how to take pictures in low light 🙂 And they are low to the ground, or close to tree trunks so it is hard to get a good angle. I tend to get dizzy trying to get a good shot of them! You did a pretty good job, the texture of tree and fungus is apparent.

    Like

    • Thanks!

      This one was in decent light, but I was shooting with bright light to the right of the tree. The biggest problem I had with focus was because of the light coloured bottom and the dark top. I experimented with a bunch of focal points. I’d often loose detail right in the middle of the fungus or on the top in the uppermost “rings”. It was so frustrating. This particular “subject” was just over my head. Not an ideal position, but not that difficult to manage.

      Like

  2. I think you did a great job! I took some similar pictures last week when I went to a forest preserve to get my “water” photo.My fungi don’t look as good as yours, so I’ll post a different subject!

    Like

  3. Very interesting picture, it looks so alien! I really like your detailed post on how you captured the image too, very helpful for me as I’m still trying to get the hang of my camera a year on 😀

    Like

  4. I like the structure and the fading green bokeh of the background. The reason it was difficult to focus was probably a lack of contrast although the exposure is spot on. The only thing I would change is the crop, give it more room on the left and eliminate the bright white on the right side. Your eyes will automatically go to the brightest spot in an image but that s not the subject here. Fortunately you don’t have to go out to do that 😉 Nice find!

    Like

Leave a Reply

