Image

Moment

Today’s Photography 101 assignment prompt is moment.

Think about the fleeting moments you experience each day — from a quiet, precious moment with your child to a busy commute through the subway, among strangers. What will you share with us?

In today’s Photography 101 article by The Daily Post, it was stated that, “movement is a great way to convey time and fleetingness”. They went on to suggest experimenting with a slow shutter speed to capture movement. I’m NOT doing that! Frankly, I’m just not a fan of that look. When I get one of those pics on my camera, it goes straight to the trash bin. Instead, I’m sharing a photo I took of strangers on the weekend while I was out hiking a local trail.

Couple with dog

I didn’t love this photo when I took it. I can’t put my finger on what I didn’t like about it. The best way I can describe it is that it had a “messiness” to it that distracted and bothered me, but there was something about the composition I was drawn to. Because I didn’t love the image as it was, I was open to the idea of mucking it up with filters. I used two PicMonkey filters—lomo and spotlight. I think they did a nice job toning down that background “messiness” and enhancing the tranquility of this quaint moment.

18 thoughts on “Moment

  1. I see movement here, I also like the final product with the filters used. Movement seen in the path still to be walked, the position of the feet showing walking as opposed to standing still, the dog’s head turned waiting for the couple to catch up-all say movement. Good job.

    Like

  2. This is an interesting photo. It looks great on it’s own, but you could crop it to make two (at least) very different and equally intriguing photos. You could focus on the couple in the background walking along a path (a visual/metaphoric journey) by cropping the right hand side. Conversely, you could crop focus on the front/lower third of the image with the playful, inquisitive dog as the focus. No matter which way you look at it, you did a nice job, and your use of filters adds a positive effect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

