Image

Landscape

Today’s photography 101 theme is landscape. In my neck of the woods, water and sky dominate the landscape.

Landscapes generally focus on wide, vast depictions of nature and all of its elements, from formations to weather. In this genre of photography, you won’t find much of a human presence: nature itself is the subject. A focus on nature isn’t mandatory, however β€” you can capture a sweeping panorama of an entire city, town, or industrial area.

IMG_0684A calm day on the Atlantic ocean.This photo was taken on the shoreline of Battery Provincial Park, Nova Scotia, Canada.

 

16 thoughts on “Landscape

  1. Lucky you. I am looking at leaf rot, gray skies, leaf-less trees, and city scenery. I escaped to the Atlantic Ocean last weekend but am now locked into the dismal days of November. Maybe our Photo 101 leaders will post a theme like “desolation” or “colorlessness” and I will have you all beaten!

    Like

  2. Once again you have used all of the elements to lead the eye into and through the photo to the focal point, the distant shore to the left in the photo. Water, cloud formations and shore line create a triangle effect to pull the eye through the photo. Good color balance as well. Love the interest the cloud formations give to the intense blue of the skies. You definitely have an “eye” for landscapes. Good job.

    Like

    • Haha. I shouldn’t tell you this, but my horizon was not straight in the original. It was taken on October 31st. It was my second outing with this camera, and the first time I used the eyepiece to shoot. I had an eye injury that damaged my vision in the right eye, so I have to use my left eye. It was really awkward learning to hold it up to the left eye. EVERY photo taken that day (and there were hundreds) had almost exactly the same degree of tilt. I have since learned how to compensate so that I don’t have to straighten my horizons in a photo editor.

      Like

      • Confessions of a photographer LOL
        Some people have the same issue because they hammer the shutter and the horizon is always slanted to the right. I have my display set to a grid when I do landscapes, helps me to have it straight πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

