Image

Treasure

Today’s Photography 101 theme is treasure.

What’s your treasure? Perhaps you found a coat at the thrift store like the one your grandfather wore, or took a once-in-a-lifetime trip through the Himalaya. Maybe you treasure your children, or your cat, or a quiet space in the woods. Show us an image that represents a treasure to you.

Tip: Get close to your subject — either use the zoom function in your camera, if it has one, or physically move closer to it.

lucky_horseshoeWhen I was 18, my university roommate arrived home with a tiny grey kitten. Somehow, she became my kitten. When the school year was over, my roommate and I parted ways, and the kitty came home to live with me. That kitty (Nobie) lived 19 years. In other words, when she died, she had been with me more than half my life. I can’t begin to explain how grief stricken I was by her death. Five years have passed and I still miss her like crazy.

When I got the news that Nobie didn’t have long to live, there were men working here on the property with excavating machinery. My mom asked one of the men to dig a hole out back so that I would not have to do that horribly painful task later on. I’m sooooo grateful to her for thinking of that. It was only a few short days later when that hole was needed. My parents were with me when Nobie passed. My dad surprised me with a casket he made for her. He put her in it, and then the three of us buried her together. It was late in the day and it was beginning to get dark. We had enough light to get the job done, but we didn’t tidy up around the site. The next day, I went back out there, alone, to finish. When I was raking the soil back in place, I found this horseshoe. I think of it as my last gift from her—a gift from the grave. I will always treasure it.

9 thoughts on “Treasure

    • I’ve had losses like everyone else, friends, relatives… had my heart broken many times. Nothing compares. Many people don’t “get it”. I’ve even been told by a well meaning individual that human life is more valuable. Really? Who decided human life is more valuable than any other life? It wasn’t me! It’s nice when I hear that someone can relate.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, they certainly are family. I do realize how lucky I am to have spent that long with her. Once she became a senior cat, I never took a moment with her for granted. On every one of her birthdays after about number 10, I would think to myself, “is this her last one”? She surprised everyone with her longevity. She only started showing signs of old age in the last 6 months she was alive. That was probably when her tumour starting growing.

        Like

  1. Lovely story, good photo. I understand. Five of my cat children spent long times with me and I still miss them. I have a formal portrait of each of them, photos I took and worked on in the darkroom, hanging on my bedroom walls. Cat # 6 is my constant companion. Again, good photo. You are really doing great with your assignments.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful, touching post! I can so relate! Lived with my Hadassah for sixteen years. She passed away 2001, I have McDuff now, but I still think of her and miss her.

    Like

    • After Nobie died I wasn’t ready for another cat, but I missed being around cats so much I decided to volunteer at a cat sanctuary. 10 months later a little white fluff-ball named Moe came home with me after one of my visits. I couldn’t go home another night without taking him with me. He brought the “fun” back into the house, but yeah, we’ll always miss the ones that are gone.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

