Image

Triumph

Today’s Photography 101 theme is triumph. I have to admit, this one made me panic a bit when I saw it last night. Not only did I think it was a difficult prompt, but I knew then that I wasn’t going to have a whole heck of a lot of time to run around and take photos. I had a medical appointment that was going to take up the first half of my day, and for the rest of the day, I was going to be at work tied to my desk (that’s where I am now).

What does triumph mean to you? It could mean that goal in the dying seconds, nailing “tree pose” without quivering, or any victory — big or small, personal or public. Tip: Triumph usually denotes drama of some sort, no matter whether it’s big or small. Playing with contrast is a great way to enhance your photos for a more dramatic effect.

I had a lightbulb moment when I was in the shower—FYI, I do my best problem solving in the shower. It occurred to me that the shiny new medical centre I was getting ready to go to this morning is a triumph. It exists because of the hard work, commitment, and generosity of the community.

This is the first time in the month long photo a day challenge that I’m not sticking to just one photo (excluding, of course, the days where more than one photo was specifically asked for). I need more than one photo to tell this (very condensed) story of triumph

IMG_4146 2

This clinic, the Dr.Kingston Memorial Health Centre, was named after the doctor I used to go to as a little girl in the ’70s and early ’80s. I believe, although I wouldn’t swear to it, he was the only doctor around at that time. By day, Dr. Kingston worked out of an office above the no-longer-existing funeral home across the road from church. I can still hear the creaking of those steep narrow stairs to his office. He also had an after hours emergency office in the basement of his house (been there too, once, thanks to a flying rock making contact with my eye). I’m almost positive he did house-calls too. He was a busy, busy man!

IMG_4144 2It’s a bilingual community. Notice the “bienvenue” on the door?

The photo below is of the “donor wall”. It lists the names of the generous individuals, businesses, and organizations who made significant financial contributions to make this health centre a reality.

IMG_4143 2 The last photo I’m sharing with you is of a painting that hangs in the waiting room. I chose not to desaturate this image, as I did for the others. You will soon see why. The colours are so vibrant, and it’s so full of contrast, it’s almost like it’s lit from within. I was awestruck by its vibrancy the very fist time I saw it. Other than a tiny bit of straightening, I did not edit this image. Nothing was done to increase the contrast.

IMG_4132

The painting is of the coast line near the clinic. The building you see above the yellow building is the old medical centre. Years ago it was a convent. The building that Dr. Kingston himself practiced in no longer exists, but it once stood on the plot of land just outside the right edge of the painting. It would have been right about where that display of pamphlets hangs.

9 thoughts on “Triumph

Leave a Reply

