Image

Caturday, November 29th, 2014

Can you believe someone dumped this precious little bundle of fur at the municipal landfill? Thankfully, he was discovered by a kind gentleman who brought him to Dorothy’s Cat Sanctuary.

IMG_0412

I owe a lot to this boy. He gave me the kick in the pants I needed to go out and buy my Canon 70D.

For five years now, I’ve been snapping photos of local shelter cats. The images are used for fundraising and awareness campaigns. Up until very recently, I had been using a Fuji point-and-shoot. It had always worked perfectly fine for this purpose. That suddenly changed when I was introduced to this character. He was dropped off (unexpectedly) at my house on a Sunday morning for his FIRST photo shoot. It was a complete disaster! You know that slight delay on a point-and-shoot camera between the time you press the button and when it actually takes the photo? Well… that delay was equal to the amount of time it would take this guy to get to the next room to play with my cat. After about 45 minutes of trying, I gave up. I didn’t get one usable photo. I sent the kitty back to the sanctuary, and I got in the car and drove to the city to buy the camera I had been eyeing for weeks. A few days later, the kitty returned. Once again, he had more important things to do than pose for photos, but I did manage to get a few images that could be used. Below you will see two images from the SECOND photoshoot that were chosen to be printed on the Sanctuary’s 2015 calendars. The calendars debuted today.

Calendar_
Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 6.25.57 PM

 

13 thoughts on “Caturday, November 29th, 2014

  1. He looks like a real darlin’! When I hear/read all those stories about what people do to animals … it just brings out the worst in me. In any event; good that he made you go and buy a DSLR! We all have our reasons … mine was a foutain in Market Square, the uptown mall (!). On St. Patrick’s Day they turn the water green, and I was thinking how cool it would be to be able to shoot those long exposure shots of the green water. It was then I bought the camera, and the following year, I went there and shot the green water 😀

    You can never get a P&S to focus as fast as a DSLR, and I like, most of all, to shoot birds … water fowl.

    Like

  2. Like the shots for the calendar. A good SLR, hands down over a point and shoot for anything that moves. But, i love my point and shoot for travel, it fits in my pocket, gets great “crowd and environment shots” and I don’t attract attention until I pull it out of my pocket to take the photo. But a good DSLR can’t be beat for quality and anything that moves. Kudos to you for your volunteer work for the Cat Sanctuary. Where can one get a copy of the calendar?

    Like

Leave a Reply

