Image

Sewing Machine

This little trinket was given to me as a gift a few years ago. I use it as a paperweight, but that’s not what it’s meant to be. It’s a “box” for storing very tiny things. I thought it would be a fun thing to photograph it on this miserable grey day.

IMG_4328

As I said above, it’s grey and miserable outside. There wasn’t a heck of a lot of natural light to be found anywhere in the house, so I placed my subject about 12″ front of a window and I used a flash.

The wall in the background is a warm beige, but you’d never know it from this photo. I think it’s pretty neat how the dismal grey light from outdoors made the room appear cool, but the colouring of my subject stayed true to life. It almost looks as if I selectively desaturated my image.

23 thoughts on “Sewing Machine

  1. It’s hard to tell for sure what it’s size is except the tiny little clasp that gives it away. You did great at getting nice and close to show the details. Very sweet. You are good at playing with lighting. I’ve noticed that in your other photos too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Did you get this as a gift because you sew? That’s another one of my hobbies that I don’t have time for during the academic semester! I cram in my photography, sewing, and travel during my breaks. (Almost there!)

    Like

  3. Such a beautiful photo of this little thing! I love shots like this … the colours, or lack thereof 🙂

    Miserable day, weather-wise, not a photo was taken here 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

