Image

Lightroom 5 Trial

I finally got around to getting my free trial of Lightroom, and I fiddled with it for about 15 minutes this morning. I can tell it’s going to take some time to figure it all out, but it does seem to be reasonably user friendly.

In the short time I spent playing with the editor, I learned enough about it to make two fun edits to a random photo I selected from my hard drive.

IMG_4400This is my original image. I like it the way it is, but I wanted to see what else I could do with it.

Nesting_Dolls_Black_and_White (1 of 1)Here it is again in black and white. I like this too. I might even like this a little more than I like the colour version.

Nesting_Dolls_Blue (1 of 1)I brought the blue back in this version. I think it’s a cool technique, but this might not be the best subject to apply it to. What do you think?

P.S. If you haven’t checked out Lucile’s Photo 101 Rehab yet, head on over. Lots of great photos have been submitted to her site.

20 thoughts on “Lightroom 5 Trial

  1. The blue version is my favourite. The monochrome with the pop of one colour was totally overdone a couple of years ago but that doesn’t mean that it is not effective in some images. In this case, I think the limited palette focuses attention on shape and pattern but the pop of colour leads the eye through the series of matryoshka and also nods to how colourful they are.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t a fan of black and white until I started this blog. I gained an appreciation for it from browsing other blogs, and I started trying it out myself. I often prefer it over colour now.

      Like

      • I feel like I am now constantly noticing all the colors around me now. I do love color. But sometimes the black/white seems more dramatic to me. I agree it is fun to look around at all the blog photos.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

