Image

Learning Lightroom

I really went overboard with the editing of this image, but I don’t really care. I had a blast doing it, and in the process, I learned soooooo much about what Lightroom is capable of.

The image below is one I normally would have tossed in the recycle bin, but because it has so much wrong with it, I figured it would be a good one to practice using pretty much every one of the Lightroom editing tools.

IMG_4465

The next image is the edited one. The difference blows my mind. I never imagined that I’d be able to get this much colour and detail from this crappy dark JPG.

Lighthouse (1 of 1)This is the point in my blog post where I often list my edits (if I made any). I’m not going to do that today. Lets just say that if I were to list the edits I didn’t make, rather than the ones I did make, it would be a shorter list.

P.S. Go on over to Lucile’s Photo 101 Rehab. There are lots of lovely photo submission links to check out. I’m adding this post to her “clinic”.

26 thoughts on “Learning Lightroom

  1. I just went to the lightroom homepage yesterday, and went through a couple of the introductory tutorials. wow. I was overwhelmed. I’ve wanted to buy it for months, but I’m scared! Even just understanding how to import the photos confused me. Your willingness to learn it inspires me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been using LR and PS with their built-in companions, Adobe Bridge and Camera Raw, exclusively for about a year now and there is still so much I don’t know yet. Please do post the links to that tutorial series if you can, I’d love to take a look at them.
    I suspect that once you get a little more experience with LR, you will want to shoot almost exclusively in RAW (.NEF on your Nikon) – the biggest advantage is that it is lossless, and gives you total flexibility for any adjustments before you convert to JPG. It also saves your adjustments in a separate file, called a sidecar, which allows you to revert back to the original at any time.
    Welcome down the rabbit hole of image post-processing! It’s a HUGE subject with so many fun possibilities, it’s easy to get totally captivated 🙂

    Like

    • “Rabbit hole” is right. I might even enjoy this part more than taking photos, especially now that the weather sucks. I was grateful for the lossless feature yesterday. I was almost done when I hit the wrong button and brought it back to the original. Here’s the link to the YouTube site I was glued to yesterday. He has a few playlists. I haven’t looked at any of them except the Lightroom one yet. https://www.youtube.com/user/AnthonyMorganti

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome! I’ve been enjoying looking at everyone’s black and white photos. This one is going to be fun. I’m going to try take new photos for this rather than go into my archives. I haven’t been taking as many photos as I’d like to be taking lately. This may get me back outside.

    Like

Leave a Reply

