Image

Shadows in the Snow

It was raining pretty hard when I climbed into bed in the wee hours of the morning. Even though I knew the mercury was supposed to drop overnight, I was not expecting to find everything outdoors covered with snow when daylight returned.

snow_day (1 of 1)-4

This week’s photo challenge from The Daily Post is shadowed.

For this week’s Photo Challenge, find the shadows. You can choose a literal interpretation and shoot an actual shadow, or you can play with the light and dark, and create a moody scene, or capture your subject in a rich and interesting way.

I had taken this shot of my shadowy backyard about an hour before I saw the theme for this week’s photo challenge in my WordPress reader. Pretty neat coincidence, eh?  To make my photo a little more dramatic, I used Lightroom to desaturated it, and then I tinkered with the exposure levels of the highlights and shadows in the snow.

For those of you who are still reading this post (in other words, those of you who didn’t stop by just to look at the picture) I want to let you know that I’m taking part in Blogging 101 and that I have started another blog called Snapshots, Snippets and Scribbles. So far I’ve been a really bad Blogging 101 “student”. I’ve only completed (well, sort of completed) two assignments this week. Oh well, there’s lots of time left to catch up. Anyway, that blog is going to have a much wider focus than this one. It’s going to be my catchall personal blog. If you’re interested, here’s the link.

34 thoughts on “Shadows in the Snow

    • In the summer, the angle of the sun is drastically different. There’s not a shadow of a tree to be found there in the morning, afternoon, or early evening. It’s full sun all day. That’s where I set up my greenhouse. I do take a lot of photos there each summer. It’s much prettier when its green and lush. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh good, I’ve been looking and I though maybe I’d missed those posts. Now I know to keep watching for them 😉 Your snowscape is gorgeous! Your enhancements compliment your work like natural make-up on an already pretty face….it’s not really needed but once in a while it’s nice and when done well one can hardly tell its there at all. I hope you’re having a good weekend 😉 Ps..You mention using Lightroom in your post and here in the comments you mention liking PicMonkey, which do you like better and why or what are the differences in the two programs that incline you to use them both?

    Like

    • Thanks! I tried to keep the edits natural looking. It’s so easy to take it too far. Lightroom vs PicMonkey? Apples and oranges. Lightroom is more pro. It’s wonderful for technical adjustnents. It can edit RAW. PicMonkey is fun. It has filters, text overlays, frames, image overlays, collages, basic editing tool…I could go on and on. It has a 16 megapixel limit, which for the web is fine, but I don’t like the idea of reducing my images. I love both editors for different things.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I’m still using the free trial. I have one week left, I’m not sure what I’m going to get. I really like it. I can’t go without it now. I probably won’t get Creative Cloud access. Do you have it?

      Like

      • I agree. I think I’d rather use an external hard drive than pay for a cloud service. I have Photoshop Elements and I rarely use it. It’s not user friendly at all. I had an older version of it when I had a PC. I really liked it. When I got an iMac, I bought Elements. It’s completely different and it doesn’t have a fraction of the features.

        Like

  2. Nice photo! It looks so fluffy everywhere with all that snow lol I agree with nty6x, I would probably run out there and jump into the snow because I’ve never experienced snow. Although I hear is not as fun as it seems 🙂

    Like

  3. Beautiful photo. It can be so hard to “show” snow in photographs. You did a great job of not letting the highlights get too washed out and keeping the shadows from getting blocked up and muddy, which can be very challenging with contrasty scenes like this. I like the perfect and angular way the snow builds up on the railing and it also looks like some little critter has been trekking near the wonderfully conical tree near the middle.

    Like

    • Thanks! There were some critter tracks. I wasn’t dressed for outside when I snapped that photo on the back step, so I didn’t go check them out. I meant to go out after that to have a look, but I forgot all about it. There have been a lot of tracks I don’t recognize in the yard this winter. I just figured out one of mystery critters is. I saw a weasel running by my vegetable garden in the side yard on Tuesday. I’ve had visions of him attacking me ever since.

      Like

Leave a Reply

