Image

Winter Sunset

On my way home this evening, I couldn’t help but notice the gorgeous sky in my rearview mirror. I tried to find a scenic spot to pull off the highway before the sun sank below the horizon, but it was not meant to be. I missed the shot I really wanted by about 3 minutes.

Winter sunset on the Atlantic Ocean at St. Peter's, Nova Scotia.

Winter sunset on the Atlantic Ocean at St. Peter’s, Nova Scotia.1/40 sec at f/6.3, ISO 100 , 18mm

This was my second missed-by-a-hair opportunity today for a (potentially) spectacular photo. I had been at the hospital in the afternoon, and by pure coincidence, I happened to walk out a back door near the helipad just as a chopper was descending. I had my camera on me because I didn’t want to leave it in the car unattended. Unfortunately, I was too close to get the shot. The blades sucked up the snow on the ground and swirled it around causing whiteout conditions. Had I been another 25-50 feet away, it could have been an amazing shot. Oh well, you win some, you lose some.

On a happier note, I just learned that Lucile has re-opened her Photo 101 Rehab. Woohoo! Go check it out! Perhaps you’d like to check yourself in? I’ve submitted this photo to her challenge.

132 thoughts on “Winter Sunset

Leave a Reply

