Image

Spring!

Hallelujah, Spring has arrived! It’s a balmy 1°C and for the first time since some time in January there is a bare batch in the driveway!

Snowbank-bw5 (1 of 1)

There is rain in the forecast for tonight and tomorrow—20mm-40mm. If this tropical weather continues, I may be able to see out of the first storey windows by mid-April. Woohoo!


It’s been some time since I submitted a photo to Lucile’s Photo 101 Rehab. Oops! How did I let that happen? Oh, wait… I remember why. I’ve been snowed in all freaking winter! Anyway… I used Lightroom to edit this image. I tinkered with the exposure using the brush tool to make it more contrasty. I did a bunch of other stuff too, and in the process, I somehow made my sky look grainy, but I’m okay with that. I didn’t bother to go back in the workflow chart to see when it happened.

35 thoughts on “Spring!

  1. That is quite a snow pile you have there! Our grass had only just emerged from its covering of snow and ice when yesterday – like a bad cosmic joke – we had another dumping of snow. Any signs of Spring have been buried beneath the snow again. I desperately need proper Spring now. I am so fed up with Winter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like we’re ahead of you in the race for spring. In Michigan, we haven’t had this much snow in….ah, a week or so. Lol. Unless it’s northern Michigan. Where the Great Lakes are still frozen. And will be for a while. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m happy you have a bare patch…hopefully green grass will follow soon. Brrr. I don’t even that quantity of snow. Fall is beginning here, so far we’re having scattered showers with intermittent sunshine. Love the photo.

    Like

    • It’s time to start my garden seeds indoors, but I’m delaying it a bit. I don’t think I will be able to put anything in the ground until mid-late June. I’m only planting the stuff that is really slow growing. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amy, I am telling myself that very thing. Fall has just arrived following the best summer weather we have had in Southland since I arrived. Loving summer as I do, there is a strong temptation to wish for fall and winter to pass quickly but as you so accurately pointed out- I would only be wishing my life away. So, here’s to warm clothes, beautiful fires and lots of hot drinks as I stroll through this next season one day at a time (I think I can, I think I can, I think I can! 😜). Have a great week!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the photo, and the fact that the thaw appears to be starting! Also interested in what you think of Lightroom, I have recently decided to start using it as Apple are about to kill off Aperture 3…

    Like

  5. Hopefully it will melt slowly enough not to flood and refreeze in a slick stretch! We have some muddy patches of grass at the edge of our driveway and on the paths, but spring still feels a ways off. Rebecca

    Like

Leave a Reply

