Image

New Gardening Boots

I got a new pair of gardening boots a few weeks ago and I finally got around to trying them out this afternoon. I slipped them on to bring kitchen scraps to the compost pile. The boots are fairly tall, however, the snow is still very deep. They were full of the white stuff pretty much the moment I left the house.

After I came inside, I wanted take a picture of my snazzy boots. I figured I might as well kill two birds with one stone and use them as the subject for this week’s Daily Post photo challenge. The theme is blur. 

Boots2 (1 of 1)

0.3 sec, f/5.6, ISO 125, 107mm

I didn’t want to blur my entire image. I chose instead to only blur the background. It’s subtle—just enough to bring attention to the boots.

The tripod was not in the background in my first shots. I ended up putting it there because I thought the background needed something to balance the image. Since my tripod was otherwise occupied, I shot this handheld. I held my breath with each touch of the shutter.

I want to share another photo I took of my boots today. This one does not fit the theme of the photo challenge, but what the heck, here it is.

Boots-on-stairs2 (1 of 1)

My first shot was taken in manual mode, this one is not. This one is a handheld HDR image that was processed in the camera. This is my absolute favourite auto focus setting on the Canon 70D.

17 thoughts on “New Gardening Boots

  1. After your kind comments to my writing 101 post I thought I’d check out your blog. Your photographs of the snow blew my mind. As an expat I follow the news and weather from Canada and have been hearing about all the snow in the Maritimes, however your pictures help me really understand. I be following your posts, my son is in the Canadian Navy and is based in Halifax, somehow I feel closer to him checking out your pictures and posts.

    Like

    • Haha. My snow photos, I’m sure, help explain where my “Conjuring Summer” post for today’s writing 101 (on my other blog) came from. It’s been brutal!

      I’m glad I can help you feel closer to your son. BTW, Halifax got another 15cm today. We somehow escaped that one. I only saw a few flurries.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

