Image

The Changing Seasons 2016—March

It’s time, again, for Cardinal Guzman’s monthly photo challenge, The Changing Seasons 2016. Like some of the others who take part in this challenge, I was still in semi-hibernation mode for much of March. All of my photos for this month’s submission were shot between the 20th and the 27th.

This first group of (4) images were shot in or very near my yard. What can I say… it was too freaking cold to go any further until yesterday.

swings

The neighbours’ swing set.

 

Across the street from my house

Across the street from my house.

 

fire hydrant (45.654016, -60.862393)

A cute fire hydrant that has seen better days.

 

My back yard on the first day of Spring. Noooooo, not again!

My back yard on the first day of Spring. Noooooo, not again!

Construction is about to start on a new bridge across the St. Peter’s Canal. Our old single lane swing bridge is going to be replaced with a two lane swing bridge. I plan to document the progress every month here in my Changing Seasons posts.

Swing bridge (looking toward the Bras d'Or Lake).

Swing bridge (looking toward the Bras d’Or Lake).

 

Bridge traffic going to "town".

Bridge traffic going to “town”.

 

yellow machine

A big yellow machine parked next to the bridge. It looks like ground will be broken any day now.

 

To get back to the car from the bridge, I walked along the banks of the canal (on Denys Street) and snapped a few more photos.

Fire hydrant on Denys Street.

Fire hydrant on Denys Street.

 

Fire hydrant on Denys Street.

Another fire hydrant on Denys Street.

 

Looking down at one of two sets of two sets of locks on the canal.

Looking down at one of two sets of two sets of locks on the canal.

 

Village view from between two houses on Denys Street, St. Peter's.

Village view from between two houses on Denys Street.

 

The last group of photos I’m sharing today were taken on Toulouse Street—the street on which I parked the car while I was off snapping photos.

Trading post site.

Trading post site.

 

The bay.

St. Peter’s Bay.

 

Boat traffic welcome sign.

Boat traffic welcome sign.

 

The first of two sets of locks as you enter the canal from the Atlantic.

The first of two sets of locks as you enter the canal from the Atlantic.

 

St. Peter's Canal looking toward the Atlantic.

St. Peter’s Canal looking toward the Atlantic.

 

Chained (to nothing).

Chained (to nothing).

 

ready for takeoff

Ready for takeoff.

 

29 thoughts on “The Changing Seasons 2016—March

    • It’s a little warmer. It’s still only a few degrees above freezing, but that’s to be expected here this time of year. There has been a couple other snow days since that photo was taken, but each time it melted shortly after. It won’t be long before the snow stops falling. 🙂

      Like

  1. You did much better than you perhaps think, despite the general hibernation mode that has struck us all. I’m more of a city person than a country person, but I’m taken aback by your nature photos, especially the canal ones. Your views combine the best of nature and the best of civilisation – well, maybe rusty painted fire hydrants are not the best of civilisation for everyone, but I love this kind of things, so I’m perfectly happy.

    Like

  2. I just had a *wow* going through this post and your amazing photos. That village view on Denys Street with the red barn in the foreground is gorgeous. I hope you’ll take that one again in the summer and fall!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

