Image

H2O

For this week’s Daily Post photo challenge, I’ve decided to try something I’ve never done here before.  I’m reusing photos I’ve already shared. Let’s call it my “Best of H2O” compilation.

For this week’s challenge, share a photo that features H2O; the element of water.

In no particular order, here are some of my favourite archived H20 shots.

icicles under the picnic table

icicles under the picnic table

 

raindrops on window

raindrops on window

 

ISO 1600, 135mm, 3.7 EV, f/5.6, 1/8,000

drip 

 

fog melt

fog and dirty snow 

 

the trail to grandma's house

snowy trail to grandma’s house

 

ice

ice

 

snowy ball

snow

 

water-2

what lies beneath

 

puddle reflection

puddle reflection

 

watering can

watering can

 

faucet

water faucet

41 thoughts on “H2O

  1. OK – I think I’m just not going to try this one. Too good! (Not that it’s a competition; I just have so many water shots and not a single one can match these beauties. P.S. I like the puddle reflection best – I think. Are you sure that’s not a mosaic? Haha.)

    Like

    • Haha. I’m sure you can find some gems in your water shots. The puddle reflection is one I posted for my project 365. I didn’t like it much until I got it in Lightroom and flipped it upside down. Then, suddenly, it looked like a painting. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Speaking of H2O how did you folks make out with the heavy rains last week? I heard there was some serious flooding in some areas. I hope you’re doing okay where you are 😃

    Like

    • That rain was like nothing I’ve ever seen before. It was like those heavy downpours we occasionally get for a few minutes at a time, but it went on for hours and hours without easing up. I bailed about 25L-30L out of my bedroom (and a bunch went down the laundry room drain in the next room). Thankfully, I saw the water right when it began seeping in, so I was able to drag everything out of there and clean it up before anything got damaged. It was only rainwater (no contamination). The floor is resistant to water, and there is an in-floor heating system that dried everything out. The driveway was washed out. My dad has a tractor, and fixed it the next morning. The strangest part is that nobody forecasted it. We were expecting 15mm-25mm. Ended up with over 200mm. Later that night, the winds picked up. Big trees were uprooted, things were thrown around, but nothing was damaged here. We were lucky. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had my camera for 2 years now and I still only have one lens (the kit lens). It’s a Canon EF-S 18-135 IS STM. For macro I get the best results at 135mm f/5.6 (the max focal length and widest aperture).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for the info Amy! I gravitate toward Landscape photography but plan to head to Hoover (Boulder) Dam tomorrow since I’m off work and the crowds will hopefully be smaller. Haven’t been there in a year or so. Loving the Nikon. I appreciate your thoughts on the lens. I need to research the lens you mentioned and see what might be good for me. 😬👍🏻

        Like

Leave a Reply

